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Senate Bill 634

Enacted by the WV Legislature on March 12, 2016, and approved by Governor Tomblin on March 29™, Senate Bill
634 establishes the William R. Laird Second Chance Driver’s License Act, a program that allows for the reinstatement
of an individual’s driver’s license that has been suspended or revoked due to unpaid court costs. Participating
individuals that remain current in the repayment of unpaid court costs as required by the program are eligible for a
temporary stay of their driver’s license. The statute became effective on June 10, 2016.

Program Eligibility
In order to be eligible for the program, the following must apply:

1. License has been suspended or revoked for failure to remit unpaid court costs pursuant to West Virginia
Code §17B-3-3a or §17B-3-3c.

2. Be at least twelve (12) months delinquent in payment of unpaid costs to court or courts

3. Not have any unpaid court costs incurred from charges that involve driving a commercial motor vehicle or
which otherwise violate the commercial driver’s license requirements in Chapter 17E.

4. Meet other eligibility requirements established pursuant to the rules developed under Wet Virginia Code
§17B-7-10.

NOTE: Participation in the program will be prohibited if a license is suspended or revoked for
reasons other than failure to pay applicable court costs.

Program Acceptance
In order to be accepted into the program, you must provide the following:

1. Completed application

a. Application must be typed or written in legible print. Applications may be faxed, scanned or email to
the WV Division of Justice and Community Services (DJCS).

NOTE: If required, individual will have to complete a license re-examination at a DMV testing center.
Upon review and participation approval, individual will be advised concerning submission of following items:
2. Copy of correspondence addressing court fines and fees

3. Proof of successful passage of license re-examination from Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
4. Income and Expense Sheet

Program Repayment Guidelines
In order to maintain good standing within the program, you must adhere to the following:

1. A consolidated repayment schedule based on the amount of unpaid fines and fees
a. Payments are to be made monthly
i. One-twelfth of the amount due, but not less than $50 per month
ii. Due on the 1%t day of each month
iii. Must pay all costs off within a year



Note: At the discretion of the Director, a hardship waiver may be permitted to allow for a lesser
monthly payment or an extended repayment period, but does NOT reduce the total amount due.

b. Payments are to be in the form of a cashier’s check or certified money order. No personal checks,
wire transfers, or cash will be accepted.

c. Payments are to be made payable directly to DJCS. NO payment is to be made to the courts.
Program Removal
An individual may be removed from the program for the following:

1. Misrepresented or falsified information
2. Three untimely payments of 30 days or more (does not have to be consecutive)
3. Being convicted of a subsequent criminal offense or traffic violation after acceptance into the program

Program Completion

Upon completion of the payment schedule, the individual will be issued a certificate of completion stating that he/she
has made all payments pursuant to the program. DMV will be notified by DCJS of the successful completion of the
program. Individual must contact DMV to verify all actions against license has been removed.

Program Contact Information

Questions regarding the program can be directed to:

Attn: Kimberly S. Mason
Criminal Justice Specialist Il
WV Division of Justice and Community Services
Law Enforcement Professional Standards
1124 Smith Street, Ste 3100
Charleston, WV 25301-1323
Telephone: (304) 558-8814, ext. 53328
Fax (304) 558-0391
E-mail: Kimberly.S.Mason@wv.gov



