STOP VAWA Sexual Assault Dedicated Investigator
Any STOP VAWA Sexual Assault Dedicated Investigator is required to have the following minimum requirements in order to be eligible for Law Enforcement Sexual Assault Set Aside funds:
· Must practice a Victim Centered Approach
· Make Victim Safety a priority
· Investigate incidents of Sexual Violence
· Be in compliance with West Virginia Law Enforcement Certification requirements 
· Must work with, collaborate and meet routinely with local Rape Crisis Centers or Dual Shelters
· Follow WV Foundation for Rape Information & Service protocol for responding to Sexual Assaults
· Review best practices in sexual assault investigation techniques and work toward agency policy change, if necessary.
· Follow the local county Sexual Assault Response Team Protocol, if available.
· Membership and participation both in county Sexual Assault Response Team and STOP team, if one exists in the county.
· Assist with the service of Personal Safety Orders
· Refer victims to other Victim Service Providers in their service area (if available)
· Establish a working relationship with local hospital’s emergency room contacts and be familiar with 48 hour kit timeline pick-up and delivery to WV State Police Lab
· Required to utilize the WV Coalition Against Domestic Violence “Risk/Dangerous/Lethality Form once it is completed and approved.
· Assist in multidisciplinary training with rape crisis programs, prosecutors, and medical service providers focusing on the response to sexual violence.
· Participate in “Sexual Assault Awareness Month” activities. 
· Be familiar with and respect  the “Non-report process” for victims of sexual assault  
· Training:
· Within the 1st year of funding must complete 20 hours of pre-approved (by DJCS) sexual assault training and must complete the West Virginia State Victim Assistance Academy.
· If recommended to be funded the 2nd year; they must complete 20 hours of DJCS pre-approved Sexual Assault training
· If funded after 2 years and show they have completed the above referenced training then they must complete at a minimum 8 hours of DJCS pre-approved Sexual Assault training.  This will be an annual requirement if recommended for funding.
·  Trauma informed training on Sexual Assault

Note: the four hours of basic training at the WV State Police Academy does not count towards these training requirements.
	Other training that is required and may be approved for the 20 hours required training:
· Training from local Rape Crisis Center/Dual Shelters
· [bookmark: _GoBack]Training on evidence collection, interviewing techniques and report writing for Sexual Assaults
· Training related to the understanding of victim and perpetrator dynamics, including the counter-intuitive response of victims both during and after the sexual victimization
· Training on Sexual Assault Forensic Kits
Note:  once core training is completed, the Sexual Assault Investigator will be required to mentor and train other Law Enforcement Officers on Sexual Assault.
 Sexual Assault Law Enforcement Investigator - the Police Chief or Sheriff will be required to sign a certification that states the Sexual Assault Law Enforcement Investigator does not have a Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, Stalking or Dating Violence complaint against them and that any complaints disclosed to the agency from the officer past or present does not impede the officer’s ability to conduct their job in addressing STOP VAWA crimes

