STOP VAWA Sexual Assault Law Enforcement Funds
STOP VAWA Sexual Assault Set-Aside Funds may be utilized to cover overtime for law enforcement officers/investigators or for a portion of the salary (capped at $26,000) for a STOP VAWA Sexual Assault Dedicated Investigator 
In order to be eligible for STOP VAWA Sexual Assault Dedicated Investigator Law Enforcement Sexual Assault Set Aside funds must meet the following minimum requirements:
Sexual Assault Dedicated Investigator Position:
· Must practice a Victim Centered Approach which includes:
· Prioritize victim safety
· No victim blaming
· Follow WV Foundation for Rape Information & Services protocol for responding to sexual assaults
· Respect the ‘non-report’ process for victims of sexual assault

· Investigate incidents of Sexual Violence
· Be in compliance with West Virginia Law Enforcement Certification requirements 
· Must work with, collaborate and meet routinely with local Rape Crisis Centers or Dual Shelters
· Review best practices in sexual assault investigation techniques and work toward agency policy change, if necessary.
· Follow the local county Sexual Assault Response Team Protocol, if available.
· Membership and participation both in county Sexual Assault Response Team and STOP team, if one exists in the county.
· Assist with the service of Personal Safety Orders
· Refer victims to other Victim Service Providers in their service area (if available)
· Establish a working relationship with local hospital’s emergency room contacts and be familiar with 48 hour kit timeline pick-up and delivery to WV State Police Lab
· Required to utilize the WV Coalition Against Domestic Violence “Risk/Dangerous/Lethality Form once it is completed and approved
· Assist in multidisciplinary training with rape crisis programs, prosecutors, and medical service providers focusing on the response to sexual violence.
· Participate in “Sexual Assault Awareness Month” activities. 
· Pick up Sexual Assault Forensic Exam kits from hospitals and deliver them to the WV State Police Crime Lab
· Training:
· Within the 1st year of funding must complete 15 hours of pre-approved (by DJCS) sexual assault training and must complete the West Virginia State Victim Assistance Academy.
· If recommended to be funded the 2nd year; they must complete 20 hours of DJCS pre-approved Sexual Assault training
· If funded after 2 years and show they have completed the above referenced training then they must complete at a minimum 8 hours of DJCS pre-approved Sexual Assault training.  This will be an annual requirement if recommended for funding.
·  Trauma informed training on Sexual Assault

Note: the four hours of basic training at the WV State Police Academy does not count towards these training requirements.
	Other training that is required and may be approved for the 20 hours required training:
· Training from local Rape Crisis Center/Dual Shelters
· Training on evidence collection, interviewing techniques and report writing for Sexual Assaults
· Training related to the understanding of victim and perpetrator dynamics, including the counter-intuitive response of victims both during and after the sexual victimization
· Training on Sexual Assault Forensic Kits

Note:  once core training is completed, the Sexual Assault Investigator will be required to mentor and train other Law Enforcement Officers on Sexual Assault.
 Sexual Assault Law Enforcement Investigator - the Police Chief or Sheriff will be required to sign a certification that states the Sexual Assault Law Enforcement Investigator does not have a Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, Stalking or Dating Violence complaint against them and that any complaints disclosed to the agency from the officer past or present does not impede the officer’s ability to conduct their job in addressing STOP VAWA crimes.
Overtime for Sexual Assault Set-Aside Funds:
The West Virginians Against Violence Committee will allow for a portion of the awarded funds to cover overtime in order for an Investigator(s) to investigate Sexual Assault cases and serve Personal Safety Orders.  In order to be reimbursed for overtime investigator(s) are required to meet the following requirements:
· Investigate incidents of sexual assault – these funds are not allowed to be used for “warrant sweeps”
· Must practice a victim centered approach which includes
· Prioritize victim safety
· No victim blaming
· Follow WV Foundation for Rape Information & Services protocol for responding to sexual assaults
· Respect the ‘non-report’ process for victims of sexual assault
· Collaborate with local rape crisis center/shelter
· Active participation on local SART and STOP Team meetings and follow local SART Protocols and assist with SAFE Commission requirements
· Will attend the WVFRIS Sexual Assault Symposium and complete four additional hours of sexual assault training within the state or by approved webinars.
· [bookmark: _GoBack]Pick up Sexual Assault Forensic Exam kits from hospitals and deliver them to the WV State Police Crime Lab
· Utilize the WVCADV “Danger/Risk Lethality Guide” and forms once developed
Sexual Assault Law Enforcement Set-Aside Overtime - the Police Chief or Sheriff will be required to sign a certification that states the Sexual Assault Law Enforcement Officer (s) do not have a Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, Stalking or Dating Violence complaint against them and that any complaints disclosed to the agency from the officer past or present does not impede the officer’s ability to conduct their job in addressing STOP VAWA crimes.

